LimitWatch · Errors · Upgrade to Pro

You’ve hit your usage limit. Upgrade to Pro

Codex · usage limit · string last verified 2026-10-27

Seen in: VS Code extension, CLI

You’ve hit your usage limit. Upgrade to Pro (https://chatgpt.com/explore/pro), visit https://chatgpt.com/settings/usage to purchase more credits

The source uses a curly apostrophe in You've. It then appends a retry ending: either " or try again later." or " or try again at " plus the local reset time and a period.

Issue 12299 opens on the VS Code extension. Later comments on that issue paste the same Upgrade to Pro sentence from the CLI. The sentence is formatted in the shared Codex protocol error.

Variant wording

The issue author quotes this Plus sentence with the credits link at https://chatgpt.com/codex/settings/usage and the ending or try again at Feb 23rd, 2026 9:01 PM. The current source file uses https://chatgpt.com/settings/usage (no /codex/ in the path).

source

Limits changed since this page was verified

DateChangeSource
2026-10-30Scheduled: after October 29, 2026, grandfathered ChatGPT Pro 200 subscriptions move to the lower included usage allowance; price stays $200/month. (As of 2026-10-26 this change has not yet taken effect.)source

What it means

Codex prints this exact sentence for the Plus plan, in the Plus arm of UsageLimitReachedError. Earlier arms handle a named model limit, a workspace credit or spend cap, and a promo message, and those use different wording.

Free and Go get a sentence that says to upgrade to Plus. Pro, Pro Lite, and Pro Max get a sentence that links to the credits page and does not say Upgrade to Pro.

source

When the message and the dashboard disagree

On issue 12299, the author (Plus, VS Code extension) reported this sentence at 10% remaining on the weekly limit.

A later comment on that issue said the usage page and /status still showed quota left. An OpenAI engineer replied that the logs for that report showed 0% weekly utilization remaining.

source

Which plan and limit

PlanPriceUsage limitVendor quoteSource
Plus$20/monthPer 5 hours (local msgs, estimates): GPT-6.1 Sol 15-160, GPT-6.1 Terra 35-285, GPT-6 Sol 15-150, GPT-6 Astra 5-45, GPT-6 Luna 350-3,000
Vendor estimate, local messages per 5 hours: GPT-6.1 Sol 15-160 · GPT-6.1 Terra 35-285 · GPT-6 Sol 15-150 · GPT-6 Astra 5-45 · GPT-6 Luna 350-3,000
"Power a few focused coding sessions each week."Codex pricing
checked 2026-10-27

The tag means the vendor publishes no hard message count. Prices, and any multiplier written in the limit cell, are still that vendor's figures.

Limits on these plans change without notice. Get one email when they do.

No spam. Powered by Kit; unsubscribe anytime.

When it resets

If the error includes a reset time, the Plus sentence ends with " or try again at ", then that time converted to the local timezone, then a period. The same local calendar day is a clock time (hour, minute, AM or PM). A later day also includes the month, day, and year. If there is no reset time, the sentence ends with " or try again later."

The error value can include the responsible window length in minutes. The Plus sentence does not print that number.

source

The timestamp in the issue 12299 report, Feb 23rd, 2026 9:01 PM, matches the later-day shape (month, day with an ordinal, year, and clock time). It is that report's retry time, not a reset shared by every Plus account.

source

How this tool describes the window

Shared allowance with ChatGPT Work; 5-hour window on Plus (Pro currently none), weekly limits may apply.

"These estimates are not fixed message limits; check your usage dashboard for current limits and reset times."

source, checked 2026-10-27

What it costs to keep going now

The Plus sentence links to https://chatgpt.com/explore/pro to upgrade, and to https://chatgpt.com/settings/usage to purchase more credits. The sentence does not state a credit price.

source

Difference of the tracked plan prices shown on this page.

Pro $100 ($100/month) is $80/month more than Plus ($20/month).

Pro plans this Plus sentence points to

PlanPriceUsage limitVendor quoteSource
Pro $100$100/month'Pro plans currently have no five-hour limit'; weekly allowance not published vendor publishes no numbers"Pro plans currently have no five-hour limit."Codex pricing
checked 2026-10-27
Pro $200$200/monthNo five-hour limit currently; weekly allowance not published vendor publishes no numbers"Pro plans currently have no five-hour limit."Codex pricing
checked 2026-10-27
Pro $500$500/monthAdds Ultrafast mode; no five-hour limit currently vendor publishes no numbers"Ultrafast mode access on Pro $500"Codex pricing
checked 2026-10-27

Codex Pro 100 ($100): limits and pricing · ChatGPT Pro 200: limits, pricing and the allowance change · Codex Pro 500 ($500): limits, Ultrafast and pricing

Your options, ranked

  1. Wait. If your message ends with "or try again at" and a time, that is the reset Codex was given, shown in your local timezone. If it ends with "or try again later.", the source had no reset time. source
  2. Buy credits. Open the credits link named in the sentence. The source does not state how much a credit pack costs. source

    ChatGPT usage settings

  3. Upgrade to Pro. The sentence links to the Pro upgrade page. The next Pro price we track above Plus, and the dollar gap, are in the cost section above. source

    Upgrade to Pro · Codex Pro 100 · Codex Pro 200 · Codex Pro 500

  4. Switch model. This Plus sentence does not tell you to switch models. A different branch in the same function, used for a named model limit, does say to switch. Free and Go, and the Pro tiers, also get different sentences. source
  5. If /status still shows quota. Issue 12299 records Plus users who saw this sentence while the usage page or /status still showed quota left. An OpenAI reply there said one reporter's logs were at 0% weekly remaining. A later comment, after a Plus to Pro Lite change, said this cleared it for them: codex logout, rename %USERPROFILE%\.codex to .codex_BACKUP, codex login, then a new session. That comment describes a Windows profile path. It is the comment author's workaround, not a step in the Codex source. source
  6. Another tool. LimitWatch cannot see whether another product on your account still has allowance. The compare pages list published prices and limits only.

    Claude Code vs Codex limits · Cheapest paid plan

Recent limit changes

DateChangeSource
2026-10-30Scheduled: after October 29, 2026, grandfathered ChatGPT Pro 200 subscriptions move to the lower included usage allowance; price stays $200/month. (As of 2026-10-26 this change has not yet taken effect.)source
2026-10-26GPT-6.1 Terra added to Codex and ChatGPT Work on Plus, Pro, Business, Enterprise and Edu: about 35-285 local messages per 5 hours on Plus and Standard Business; 25 / 1.25 / 125 credits per 1M input / cached / output tokens. Overall plan limits unchanged.source
2026-10-14GPT-5.5 retired from Codex with ChatGPT sign-in at noon PDT. API-key sessions unaffected.source

Full changelog · Codex vendor page

Compare

These pages quote published prices and limits. They do not show whether your account has allowance left right now.

Claude Code vs Codex

Published prices and limits

Codex vs Cursor

Published prices and limits

Claude Code vs Codex usage limits

Published prices and limits

Cheapest paid AI coding plan

Published prices and limits

Codex / ChatGPT Pro 100 vs 200 vs 500 limits

Published prices and limits

FAQ

Which ChatGPT plan gets the Upgrade to Pro usage-limit sentence?

Codex formats that sentence for the Plus plan. Free and Go get an upgrade-to-Plus sentence. Pro, Pro Lite, and Pro Max get a credits sentence that does not say Upgrade to Pro.

When does this Codex message say to try again?

If a reset time was provided, the sentence ends with or try again at and that time in the local timezone. The same local day is a clock time. A later day includes the date. If no reset time was provided, it ends with or try again later.

What if Codex says the usage limit is hit but /status still shows quota?

Issue 12299 collects Plus reports of that mismatch. An OpenAI reply on the issue said one reporter's logs were at 0% weekly remaining. A later comment describes a user workaround: codex logout, rename the %USERPROFILE%\.codex directory, codex login, and a new session.

String last verified 2026-10-27 against source, source. Limits data checked 2026-10-27.

Report a new wording

Get an email when a plan's limits change

One short email per change. No spam. Powered by Kit; unsubscribe anytime.